Bruce Hamilton, Chairman Jessie H. Roberson Joyce L. Connery

DEFENSE NUCLEAR FACILITIES SAFETY BOARD

Washington, DC 20004-2901



May 17, 2019

The Honorable James Richard Perry Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW Washington, DC 20585-1000

Dear Secretary Perry:

In correspondence dated April 22, 2019, the Board invited specific DOE and NNSA witnesses to provide testimony in a public hearing focused on the Department of Energy's *Safety Management of Waste Storage and Processing in the Defense Nuclear Facilities Complex*, including actions taken or planned to strengthen the safety posture of solid waste operations at Defense Nuclear Facilities.

We were informed that the Department could not support the public hearing due to planned attendance and participation in the "2019 DOE Nuclear and Facility Safety Programs Workshop: Improving Safety through Effective Communication" in Las Vegas, Nevada the same week. The Board has subsequently offered three alternative dates for the hearing, yet we understand that key witnesses the Honorable Anne Marie White and Mr. Dae Chung still could not participate on any of the alternative dates.

Therefore, we request that you inform the Board by May 22, 2019, of a preferred date any time from June 3 through June 24 of 2019 on which the witnesses listed in the enclosure will participate in the public hearing.

Yours truly,

un Hamilto

Bruce Hamilton Chairman

Enclosure

c: Mr. Joe Olencz

Enclosure

List of Requested Witnesses:

- The Honorable Anne Marie White, Assistant Secretary for Environmental Management
- Betsy Connell, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for the Office of Regulatory and Policy Affairs
- Dae Chung, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Safety, Security, and Quality Assurance
- Ted Wyka, Principal Deputy Associate Administrator for Safety, Infrastructure, and Operations
- Todd Shrader, Carlsbad Field Office Manager
- Jack Zimmerman, Deputy Manager for the Idaho Cleanup Project
- Jeffrey Griffin, Associate Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Field Operations for the Office of Environmental Management